1. Home
  2. FAQ
  3. Kid's app - Apple
  4. What restrictions should I enable?

 

Didn’t find what you’re looking for?

 CONTACT US


Looking for help on Android devices?

Get started with Android here. All Android specific articles have an Android icon in the title:


Looking for help on Apple devices?

Get started with Apple here. All Apple specific articles have an Apple icon in the title:


Have questions, answers, ideas about Screen Time?

  SEND US YOUR IDEAS

What restrictions should I enable?

 There are some inbuilt parental controls on Apple devices that are called Restrictions. We can use some of these Restrictions to help safeguard Screen Time and prevent kids from making changes that might affect it.

Enable Restrictions

First of all you’ll need to enable Restrictions.

  1. Open Settings >> General >> Restrictions
  2. Tap Enable Restrictions
  3. Setup a passcode to prevent kids from changing your settings.

Deleting Apps

Enabling this restriction prevents kids from deleting Screen Time from the device. Remember it means that they won’t be able to delete any other apps from the device either.

  1. Open Settings >> General >> Restrictions
  2. Scroll down to Deleting Apps and tap the switch to prevent apps from being deleted.

Location Services

These services allow apps to determine the approximate location of the device. Screen Time uses this service to help track app usage.

  1. Open Settings >> General >> Restrictions >> Location Services >> Screen Time and make sure that it’s set to Always.
  2. Then while on the Location Services page go back to the top of the page and select Don’t Allow Changes.

Mobile/Cellular Data Use

If the device has a mobile/cellular data connection, this can be turned off in the Apple Settings, if that happens then Screen Time can’t contact our servers.

  1. Check that mobile/cellular data is turned on. Open Settings >> Mobile/Cellular Data, scroll down and make sure it’s enabled for the Screen Time app.
  2. Go into Settings >> Restrictions >> Mobile/Cellular Data Use and choose Don’t Allow Changes.

Background App Refresh

Allows apps to refresh with the latest information in a way that efficiently uses power without affecting the way you use your device.

  1. Check that it’s turned on by going into Settings >> General >> Background App Refresh, scroll down and make sure that Background App Refresh is enabled for Screen Time.
  2. The open Settings >> General >> Restrictions >> Background App Refresh and choose Don’t Allow Changes.
Summary
What restrictions should I enable to help Screen Time?
Article Name
What restrictions should I enable to help Screen Time?
Description
- Enable Restrictions - Disable Delete Apps - Don't allow changes to Location Services - Don't allow changes to Mobile/Cellular Data Use - Don't allow changes to Background App Refresh

Was this article helpful?

Tell us how to improve this page. We cannot reply to these comments, so if you still need help email support@screentimelabs.com

Related Articles